We've given this page a whole new look

View the new design

2004 Nissan Pathfinder

Change Vehicle
2004 Nissan Pathfinder
Available in 4 styles:  2004 Nissan Pathfinder 4x4 shown
Asking Price Range
$2,142–$11,214
Estimated MPG

15–16 city / 19–21 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.7 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

12 out of 13 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 13 reviews

Great but engine defect wipes out value *Warning*

by zoom24 from 149 Lexington Parkway N | August 29, 2016

Loved my pathfinder until the engine fell apart due to a known issue at 115k. If you have or want on I understand they are very nice, but make sure you have the locktite put on the power valve screws before the fall into your cylinder and destroy the engine. (Cost is about 200) Nissan had recalled the 2.5 liter engines also susceptible to this issue, but left the 3.5 liter owners holding the bag. When My engine failed at 115K they said too bad and it cost me $6k to fix. That said I will not purchase another Nissan and though I loved my car for years, can only give it 1 star.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


This vehicle is incredible. Best I have ever owned

by Love My Nissan from Central Idaho | January 23, 2016

After 150,000 miles, my Nissan still runs like new. Can't bear the thought of ever parting with with it . . . . . so I haven't and probably never will. Way to go Nissan!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Best SUV I've Owned

by Pathfinder Lover from Denver, CO | July 3, 2014

I have owned my 2004 pathfinder for over 5 years and I'm still so pleased with it. It has great power, sleek look, comfortable interior and has been so reliable. I would recommend this vehicle to anyone looking to buy a used quality SUV.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Pathfinder se

by Rayssa from Denver cl | October 4, 2013

Bought a few months back I live in colorado winter just started handling the snow perfectly has heated seats windows even mirrors. Runs great and decent on gas for a smaller suv. Leather interior and room for 7 already been on a few road trips and did wonderful

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


GREAT CAR

by SMOKEY from nashville tn | April 4, 2013

Looked for some time. Found the car I was looking for.'.Pathfinder is great . not super on fuel but is very reliable for my needs... great value...................

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


NISSAN KNOWS HOW TO BUILD EM

by Wild Bill from Grapevine , tx | April 11, 2012

I just said goodbye to my 2000 Pathfinder LE. Loved it, and It just saved my life. Got rear ended while waiting to make a left turn. Guy was doing 40-50. Spun me around 180 degrees. This SUV broke, crumpled and died ( totaled). It took all the impacted and spared me. Thanks Nissan. GREAT GREAT CAR. Very well make. Very reliable. Can't go wrong. Just watch that timing belt on 2000 and earlier. Little thirsty ( 16MPG)... but hey. It's quality.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Pathfinder LE Platinum

by Weekend Work Horse from New York, NY | January 25, 2012

This car was babied and it shows. I knew what I was looking for and the price I wanted to pay. The car has had some recalls but nothing major. I was in the market for this particular vehicle and waited for the right one to show up. Great car. I wish gas mileage was better but I love the look, the ride and all the features.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great Mid Size SUV

by AG from Seattle, Wa. | November 8, 2011

I purchased my 2004 Pathfinder (Platinum 4wd) in early 2005. The 4wd is excellent, have driven in mud and snow and better than just about any other car that was out there with me. Reliability has been awesome, other than normal oil changes and tires at around 75,000 miles have not put any extra $$$$ into the vehicle. I wish it was a little more roomy, back seat is cramped for adults or even small kids if they are in car seats.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


The Best SUV Ever

by bigdog from | May 18, 2011

I have owned my pathfinder for over a year now it easily fits my family comfortly, and i love the extra compartments in the back! I have taken my pathfinder down snowmobile trails and off roading and still no proublems. The 4wd in this SUV is 2nd to none! The power is beast! Recomended to everybody!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


What a great suv

by Sharky from St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada | February 17, 2010

Great suv, reliable, no problems of any kind. Awesome BOSE stereo. In my opinion '04 are so much better looking than '05+. Gas millage is not bad at all. If you cant decide if you should buy this vehicle I will tell you DO!. I'm sad that I have to sell it. (Got a vehicle from work)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 13 reviews

Featured Services for this Nissan Pathfinder

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.