2008 Hyundai Accent

Change Vehicle
2008 Hyundai Accent
Available in 6 styles:  2008 Hyundai Accent 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$2,627–$8,183
Estimated MPG

27 city / 32 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.0 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

13 out of 14 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 14 reviews

If Hyundai made shoes I would go barefoot.Usb0

by Super B from Chattanooga | July 20, 2016

These are cheaply put together with low quality parts. The interior is brittle as can be. You will lose one of your sun visors and they cost $100 to 150 easy. There are recalls for brake light switches on most. The parts are all expensive and if you want to do it yourself its all copyright by Hyundai and you must pay their websites to get answers. They will pressure you hard to go to the dealership so they can charge you for diagnostics and routine maintenance you could do yourself for a quarter of what they charge. You will be replacing ignition coils like crazy at $80 a hit. Its a nice car WHEN it runs but they constantly break and fall apart. Not worth the money. I have a 14 year old Ford Ranger that hasnt given me the grief this 08 Accent has. Point being if I won a Hyundai in a contest....I'd give it back.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


Replacement for Honda Civic

by Small car lover from Reston, VA | February 5, 2014

I started searching for a new car after my Honda Civic was crashed by a fallen tree in a freezing rain. This car, Hyundai Accent, was almost as small and had my preferred manual transmission. It has two advantages over the Honda Civic, namely: (1) the headlights are automatically turned off as soon as the engine is turned off; (2) It has several different intermittent modes of running the windshield wipers. Some disadvantages are (1) inability to open the trunk from the driver's seat; (2) some inconvenience when pressing the clutch pedal; Perhaps, I'll have more to say after having driven it for some time - it's only one month since I bought the car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Used car but a great little vehicle

by fun car from Council Groves, KS | April 12, 2013

Great car for running around town. Easy and fun to drive. Makes for a wonderful car for our son at school.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


It's not a Subaru, but not bad.

by Polarxena from Hinckey, ny | April 16, 2012

This car offered me what I felt I needed most, reliability and good MPG. That said, it's typical of what I call a 'throwaway car', meaning you drive it until the bolts fall off. I can only hope that with reasonable care and attention that day is a long way off. The difference between lifting the hatch on the Accent and lifting the Subaru's is night and day, tells the whole story. The accent is a featherweight.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great fuel mileage

by Great reliable car from Austin, TX | February 27, 2012

Great city mileage and highway except speed is a issue it will go about 75 MPH but you will loose fuel effeciency

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Very reliable

by Joanna from Noblesville, IN | September 27, 2011

Car gets good gas milage, very reliable. It has no frills however, it is a great economical car. The car is small, very easy to park, and manover. The seats go down in the back, which makes it great for hauling things around.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great commuter car!

by Hobnobs Mausi from Virginia | August 1, 2011

I moved to the US from Europe and my company would only ship one of my cars... I decided to ship my XK8 here and buy a car for commuting. The local Jaguar dealer had a 2008 Hyundai Accent 3 door for sale. I bought it last year and not only does it get better gas mileage than it's rated for (I get 34-35 mpg hwy) it also has been an incredibly reliable car. The car is wonderful and if Hyundai came out with a convertible, I'd consider trading in my Jaguar! I love the car that much!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


I love my car!!

by Widge from | July 21, 2010

I've only had the car for 4 mths, but its been great. It's a smooth drive and it's a cute fun car. There isn't much to it, but that doesn't bother me I don't need fancy design just the basics. It has over 40000 miles on it and it drives like a dream! I heard bad things about hyundais, but we have 3 in my family and all have been great! Its great value for your money, I highly recommend this car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Great Car

by skinny tall guy from Wichita, ks | July 11, 2009

After the initial 500 mile break in period (bought the car with 6 miles on it), my wife and I have been averaging 34.5 mpg around town. We haven't taken it on any road trips yet so we don't know what kind of mileage it will get on the highway. My biggest problem with the car it the way they geared it( 5 speed) The auto gets better mpg on the highway because it is revving lower in fourth gear than the manual does in 5th! It is crazy. I am going to put bigger tires and wheels on it to give it better highway mpgs. Also the back seats don't fold nearly flat enough. But I love the car and it has been awesome to us with no problems yet, plus they Hyundai dealership was super friendly and very helpful.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Best Budget Car out there

by 08AccentGS from Maryland | July 2, 2009

Bought one year old '08 model w/13k miles. Remainder of 60m/60k warranty transfers, 2nd owner loses add'l 100k pwrtrn warranty. Great car. Have the base model w/5spd. 33MPG in commuting, 34.5,35.6MPG in 50/50 town/hwy, 39.7 in mostly hwy. Great features for base level- adj. seat height, tilt wh., built in XM with nice display/controls, MP3 port, 6spkrs. Lighted gl.comp and hatch area, tilt rear seats, tach, left foot rest, armrest. I am 6'1" and have more headroom than my truck. Smooth ride for small car, handling decent. Gauges,controls well laid out and visible. Solid interior. Huge windshield gives great vis. Remaining warranty is better than many new warranties! Dislikes- Steering wheel too thick Balky std. manual shifter- solved by inst. of B&M sport shifter,(highly recommended!) Back is not completely flat when seats folded down. Hard door armrest. Low torque in first gear. -Very satisfied overall.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 14 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2008 Hyundai Accent.


Featured Services for this Hyundai Accent

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.